samhaist

Best Albums of 2008 – The Definitive List

In music, recommendations, reviews on January 1, 2009 at 2:55 am

I am the first to admit that I am a pretentious weiner that likes to lament the current state of popular music.  However, in a year full of auto-tune, there have been many beacons of hope.  I now present to you the definitive list of the best music of 2008.  I have to be honest though.  I’m not sure whether I should have done a top 5 or this top 10.  For the next few weeks I will probably flip-flop my opinions as to which deserve the 6-10 rankings and which deserve to be “Runners Up”.  Nevertheless, here is my imperfect list.

Top 10 Albums of 2008

  1. The Hold Steady – Stay Positive
  2. Lucinda Williams – Little Honey
  3. Fleet Foxes – Fleet Foxes
  4. Kathleen Edwards – Asking for Flowers
  5. Ryan Adams & The Cardinals – Cardinology
  6. Ray LaMontagne – Gossip in the Grain
  7. Ron Sexsmith – Exit Strategy of the Soul
  8. Sigur Ros – Med Sud I Eyrum Vid Spilum Endalaust
  9. Coldplay – Viva La Vida or Death & All His Friends
  10. Bon Iver – For Emma, Forever Ago

Runners Up

Other Notable Releases (that are as good if not better than some on the top 10 list, but due to not being “studio” albums, were not included)

Reissue of the Year

  1. […] was a great year for music. For serious. At the end of 2008, I had a very rough time compiling my list (and looking back there are plenty of changes I would make). There were only about five albums that […]

Leave a Reply

