samhaist

J.I. Packer on the Gospel

In quotes, theology on July 9, 2008 at 9:24 pm

Lately I’ve been reading J.I. Packer’s classic, Knowing God.  Since the question of “What is the Gospel?” is so hot right now, I thought I’d share my good friend James’ answer.

“Were I asked to focus the New Testament message in three words, my proposal would be adoption through propitiation, and I do not expect ever to meet a richer or more pregnant summary of the gospel than that” (Knowing God, pg. 214)

Dang.

  1. I know. I love J.I. Packer, but I love Jesus more. I think that our adoption into the family of God is one of the most misunderstood and unappreciated aspects of our faith. The whole chapter entitled “Sons of God” is awesome.

Leave a Reply

